About CMS

CMS Travels to Bad Kissingen

CMS Travels to Bad Kissingen, Germany - In David Finckel's Words

CMS was thrilled to be back in Germany for another summer festival. Previous tours have brought CMS to Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Mozart@Augsburg, and the Dresdner Musikfestspiele.

CMS concerts were surrounded with appearances by:
Pianists Daniil Trifonov, Grigory Sokolov, and Arcadi Volodos; singer Cecilia Bartoli; violinists Lisa Batiashvili and Frank Peter Zimmerman; and the Mariinsky St. Petersberg (Valery Gergiev) and Bamberger Symphonie (Adam Fischer) Orchestras

…and these were just the ones adjacent to our two concerts.

We performed in the Rossini Saal, the large chamber music hall contained in the large performing arts center called the Regentenbau. Our first concert was a full house and resulted in, according to locals, an unusually enthusiastic response from the audience, especially given that we are strangers to this scene.

July 11, 2015 4:00 PM

Mozart Trio in E-flat major for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano, K. 498, “Kegelstatt”
O'Connor F.C.'s Jig for Violin and Viola
Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue for Piano, Four Hands, arr. Henry Levine
Schumann Quintet in E-flat major for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 44

July 13, 2015 8:00 PM

Beethoven Quartet in E-flat major for Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano, Op.16
Tsontakis KnickKnacks for Violin and Viola
Schoenfield Trio for Clarinet, Violin, and Piano
Barber Souvenirs for Piano, Four Hands, Op. 28
Dvorák Quartet in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 87

Chad Hoopes, Arnaud Sussmann, violin; Matthew Lipman, viola; Jose Franch-Ballester, clarinet; David Finckel, cello; Gloria Chien, Wu Han, piano

Matthew Lipman, Chad Hoopes, Jose Franch-Ballester, and Gloria Chien

There is much press attention for classical music in Germany.

Immediately after the concert we were interviewed for German radio. The gentleman was especially interested in our new CMS Two violinist Chad Hoopes, his beautiful Stradivarius violin, and his dual career in the U.S. and Germany (Chad spends half the year as a resident of Kronberg, Germany, and performs as soloist with orchestras all over Europe).

Wu Han and Chad Hoopes

Gloria Chien, Matthew Lipman, Chad Hoopes, Jose Franch-Ballester, Wu Han, and Arnaud Sussmann

After our first concert Saturday the musicians were graciously invited to dinner by the deputy mayor Anton Schick and his family, in a famous restaurant here called Bratwurst Glöckle, where the specialty is sausages, and seasonally, the German porcini mushrooms (Pfifferlinge) which are often served in cream sauce as accompaniment to noodles or in this case Knödle, or dumplings. Anton Schick, a native of the city, was the mayor (Bürgermeister) of Bad Kissingen from 2008-14.

Chad Hoopes, Jose Franch-Ballester, Wu Han, Anton Schick, David Finckel, Arnaud Sussmann, Gloria Chien, and Matthew Lipman

We were also surprised by a visit from CMS visual artist 2013 Theo Noll, who took the train from his home in Nürnberg to hear our concert and visit with us at breakfast the following day. Theo brought a selection of his recent work and many paintings were purchased from him, not only by us musicians but also diners in the large breakfast restaurant of the Frankenland Hotel. 

Matthew Lipman, Chad Hoopes, and Theo Noll

Wu Han and Theo Noll

To learn more about the history of Bad Kissingen, click here.