About CMS

Past Recipients

The Stoeger Prize for composers of chamber music was established by a generous gift from Milan Stoeger as a memorial to his wife, Elise, and in gratitude for the music that had been one of the principal joys of their lives. The Prize is awarded in recognition of achievement in the field of chamber music composition rather than for a specific work.

Previous winners of the Elise L. Stoeger Prize

1987 - Gunther Schuller
1990 - Oliver Knussen
1992 - Lee Hyla and Olly Wilson
1993 - Aaron Jay Kernis and Nicholas Maw
1994 - Oleg Felzer and Richard Wilson
1995 - David Liptak and Steven Mackey
1996 - Martin Bresnick and Osvaldo Golijov
1997 - Stephen Hartke and Judith Weir
1998 - Thomas Ades and Yehudi Wyner
1999 - James Primosch and Scott Wheeler
2000 - Michael Daugherty and Kaija Saariaho
2002 - Chen Yi
2004 - David Rakowski
2006-2007 - Pierre Jalbert
2008-2009 - Jörg Widmann
2010-2011 - Brett Dean 
2012-2013 - Zhou Long 

From the guidelines for the award, the intentions of the donor indicate that the Prize will help sustain a composer for creative work that he/she might not otherwise be able to accomplish without such economic help.