Press & News

Twelve New CMS Two Musicians to Join CMS Roster

CMS is proud to announce the winners of the latest CMS Two auditions.  Following a rigorous application and audition process, twelve new members were chosen from an international pool of more than two hundred applicants, with fifty-three invited to participate in the live auditions.  Joining the CMS Two program in the 2012-2013 season will be pianists: Gloria Chien and Soyeon Lee; violinists: Benjamin Beilman, Nicolas Dautricourt, Sean Lee, Alexander Sitkovetsky, and Areta Zhulla; cellist: Mihai Marica; clarinetist: Romie de Guise-Langlois; oboist: James Austin Smith; bassoonist: Bram van Sambeek, and percussionist: Ian Rosenbaum.  The illustrious panel for the live round of auditions included CMS Artistic Directors David Finckel and Wu Han, faculty member and former president of the New England Conservatory of Music cellist Laurence Lesser; Artistic Administrator of the Boston Symphony Anthony Fogg; Director of Artistic Planning for Carnegie Hall Jeremy Geffen, as well as prominent musicians, and members of the CMS artistic staff.

The CMS Two program provides outstanding young performers in the early stages of major careers unparalleled professional opportunities.  During their three-year residency, members participate in all aspects of musical life at CMS, including national and international tours; radio and television broadcasts; recordings, and performances in Alice Tully Hall, the Rose Studio, and the Kaplan Penthouse.

« View latest news