Season & Tickets

CMS ON TOUR - Vancouver Playhouse

CMS goes on tour to the Vancouver Playhouse.

Music's color spectrum is no more vividly portrayed than in the wind music of French composers.  Leading up to Poulenc's celebrated Sextet are effervescent quintets by the iconic masters Françaix and Ibert, a delicate sonata by rarely-heard composer Maurice Emmanuel, and a contemporary work by Yan Maresz that carries the tradition of French sound into the 21st century.

Performance Dates & Tickets

February 7, 2012

This event has already occurred.


  • Emmanuel Sonata for Flute, Clarinet, and Piano, Op. 11 (1907)
  • Maresz Circumambulation for Flute (1993, rev. 1996)
  • Françaix Quintet for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn (1948)
  • Ibert Trois Pièces Brèves for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn (1930)
  • Poulenc Sextet for Piano, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn (1932-39)


Meet the Artists

About this Concert

Program Notes

Download PDF

Concert Length

1 hour, 20 minutes