1940: Messiaen's Quartet for the End of Time

Friday, March 20, 2020, 7:30 PM at Alice Tully Hall


“I saw a mighty angel descend from heaven, clad in mist.” So begins Olivier Messiaen’s introduction to this work, composed and premiered in a prisoner of war camp, which transcends its medium to become one of music’s most powerful, life-changing experiences. Brahms in his most introspective mood, and Stravinsky nodding to the Classical style, lead to Messiaen’s mesmerizing, mystical depiction of the apocalypse, amid bird calls, the sound of seven trumpets, and a final, hypnotic affirmation of immortality.

  • Brahms: Sonata in F minor for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 120, No. 1 (1894)
  • Stravinsky: Suite italienne for Violin and Piano (1932)
  • Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time) for Clarinet, Violin, Cello, and Piano (1940-41)


Click on each artist to read their bio and download headshots.
Wu Qian, piano
Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin
Mihai Marica, cello
Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet


Stravinsky: Suite italienne for Cello and Piano

Additional Media

Download supplemental videos, audio, and photos here.