Ayano Kataoka
Ayano Kataoka

Artist Series: Ayano Kataoka

Wednesday, November 24, 2021 7:30 PM ET at ChamberMusicSociety.org

This Front Row Artist Series concert focuses on the work of percussionist Ayano Kataoka in a variety of ensembles, complemented by a short documentary film on her life and work.

Kataoka is joined by pianist Gilles Vonsattel, violinist Sean Lee, cellist Mihai Marica, flutist Tara Helen O'Connor, clarinetist Tommaso Lonquich, and percussionists Victor Caccese, Christopher Froh, and Ian David Rosenbaum, in works by Takemitsu, de May, Mackey, and Reich.


  • Takemitsu Rain Tree for Percussion Trio (1981)
  • de May Musique de tables for Percussion Trio (1987)
  • Mackey Micro-Concerto for Solo Percussion, Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello, and Piano (1999)
  • Reich Drumming: Part 1 for Percussion Quartet (1970-71)