Digital Encore: Beethoven to Beach

Monday, November 28, 2022, at 12:00 PM ET at
Tickets start at $20.00

Despite being restricted in her musical career by her husband and parents, Amy Beach fought to become a successful composer and concert pianist. A grand, sweeping work in the Romantic style, her quintet stands beside the great works in the genre by Schumann, Brahms, and Dvořák. As preludes to the Beach, fanciful works by Beethoven and Schumann lead to the intense sonic and rhythmic world of Erwin Schulhoff, whose bracing duo for violin and cello rivals those by his contemporaries Ravel and Kodály.


  • Beethoven Variations in G major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 121a, “Kakadu” (1803, rev. 1816)
  • Schumann Märchenbilder for Viola and Piano, Op. 113 (1851)
  • Schulhoff Duo for Violin and Cello (1925)
  • Beach Quintet in F-sharp minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op.67 (1907)