Bella Hristova
Bella Hristova

Arensky and Brahms

Tuesday, March 23, 2021, 7:30 PM at Alice Tully Hall
{{vm.bookingInfo.buttonText}} Subscriptions



Energy, passion, and quintessential Russian and Viennese styles abound in this pairing of composers deeply embedded in their singular cultures. The Slavic melancholy and melodramatic abandon of Arensky give way to Brahms's Gypsy flair and stately Germanic structure. At intermission, listeners will travel 1,200 miles from Moscow to Vienna in 20 minutes!


  • Arensky Six Children’s Pieces for Piano, Four Hands, Op. 34 (Published 1894)
  • Arensky Trio No. 1 in D minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 32 (1894)
  • Brahms Selected Hungarian Dances for Piano, Four Hands (1868, 1880)
  • Brahms Trio in C major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 87 (1880–82)

Subscription Series