Wu Han
Wu Han

1891: Brahms's Clarinet Quintet

Tuesday, November 19, 2019, 7:30 PM at Alice Tully Hall
{{vm.bookingInfo.buttonText}} Subscriptions


Have a promo code? {{vm.promoDetails.appliedPromoCode}} promo code applied Remove

{{ vm.promoDetails.title }}

{{ vm.message }}
Concert Watch Video

Before his death in 1897, Johannes Brahms memorialized his cherished, fast-disappearing Old World in works of breathtaking tenderness and profundity. Moved by the serene purity of the clarinet, he created a quintet for the ages, a heart-rending epitaph for himself and the 19th century combined. Schubert’s similar Fantasie, composed in the autumn of his life, and Schumann’s emotional Dichterliebe build a nostalgic musical path to Brahms’s late masterpiece.


  • Schubert Fantasie in F minor for Piano, Four Hands, D. 940, Op. 103 (1828)
  • Schumann Dichterliebe for Voice and Piano, Op. 48 (1840)
  • Brahms Quintet in B minor for Clarinet, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 115 (1891)