Juho Pohjonen
Juho Pohjonen

1893: Debussy's String Quartet

Tuesday, January 14, 2020, 7:30 PM at Alice Tully Hall


Have a promo code? {{vm.promoDetails.appliedPromoCode}} promo code applied Remove

{{ vm.promoDetails.title }}

{{ vm.message }}
Concert Watch Video

Claude Debussy’s innovations made modern music possible. His only string quartet, the first truly Impressionist-style chamber music, opened a new era for the string quartet. Surrounding Debussy’s iconic work are Czech novelties both traditional and modernist, plus a milestone work of the German school, Brahms’s mighty A major Piano Quartet.


  • Suk Elegie for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 23 (1902)
  • Janáček Sonata for Violin and Piano (1914-15)
  • Debussy Quartet in G minor for Strings, Op. 10 (1893)
  • Brahms Quartet No. 2 in A major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 26 (1861)