Inside Chamber Music: Prokofiev’s Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor

Wednesday, November 2, 2022, 6:30 PM at Rose Studio at CMS
Buy Tickets


Have a promo code? {{vm.promoDetails.appliedPromoCode}} promo code applied Remove

{{ vm.promoDetails.title }}

{{ vm.message }}

A haunting, chilling masterpiece, Prokofiev’s Sonata No.1 in F Minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 conveys the dread and despair of living in Stalin’s Soviet Union. Prokofiev compared the unforgettable whispering scale passages to “…wind in an abandoned graveyard.” Bruce Adolphe examines Prokofiev’s particular musical vocabulary in search of the composer’s dark poetic voice.

Work featured in performance on November 13, 2022.


  • Prokofiev Sonata No. 1 in F minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 80 (1938-46)