Michael Brown
Michael Brown

1842: Schumann's Piano Quintet

Sunday, March 8, 2020, 5:00 PM at Alice Tully Hall


Have a promo code? {{vm.promoDetails.appliedPromoCode}} promo code applied Remove

{{ vm.promoDetails.title }}

{{ vm.message }}
Concert Watch Video

Robert Schumann, in one of music’s most astonishingly creative outbursts, composed six major chamber works between June and December, 1842. His Piano Quintet established the genre as no work had before, becoming an instant classic and paving the way for the immortal quintets by such composers as Brahms, Fauré, and Shostakovich.

Join us for a pre-concert chat with John Harbison at 4:00 PM in the Rose Studio. Free for ticket holders.


  • Mozart Quartet in D major for Flute, Violin, Viola, and Cello, K. 285 (1777)
  • Schubert "Gretchen am Spinnrade" for Voice and Piano, D. 118, Op. 2 (1814)
  • Chausson Chanson perpétuelle for Soprano and Piano Quintet, Op. 37 (1898)
  • Harbison IF for Soprano and Ensemble (CMS Co-Commission, New York Premiere)
  • Schumann Quintet in E-flat major for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 44 (1842)