Richard O'Neill
Richard O'Neill

Summer Evenings III

Sunday, July 16, 2017, 5:00 PM at Alice Tully Hall
{{vm.bookingInfo.buttonText}} Subscriptions



One of Prokofiev’s most joyful creations anchors a concert of essential chamber works. Beethoven's groundbreaking String Trio cascades into Prokofiev’s equally sunny Violin Sonata, also in the luminous key of D major. Dvořák’s landmark American Quintet—a miracle of musical assimilation—occupies a hallowed, irreplaceable spot in the firmament of chamber music milestones, and on the desert island lists of listeners everywhere.


  • Beethoven Trio in D major for Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 9, No. 2 (1797-98)
  • Prokofiev Sonata in D major for Violin and Piano, Op. 94a (1943, arr. 1944)
  • Dvořák Quintet in E-flat major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 97, “The American” (1893)

Subscription Series

  • Summer Evenings


    Returning for a third season, this series offers listeners the opportunity to refresh, rejuvenate, and reconnect with CMS during the summer. Make sure to get your tickets early for this in-demand series.