Athens, GA

Tuesday, January 21, 7:30 PM at Hugh Hodgson Concert Hall

Presented by University of Georgia-Athens.

French Enchantment

Experience the grace, wit, and charm of French music. The program begins and ends with early works by Saint-Saëns and Fauré that recreate the elegant atmosphere of 19-century Parisian salons. In between, the Ravel sonata, written soon after World War I, uses just two string instruments to produce a composition of unique, austere beauty. These three inimitable works capture the essence of pure melody in its most delightfully fundamental form.


  • Ravel Sonata for Violin and Cello (1920-22)
  • Saint-Saëns Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano in D minor, Op. 75 (1885)
  • Fauré Quartet No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 15 (1876-79)