Morrow, GA

Sunday, March 17, 3:00 PM at Spivey Hall

Russian Mastery

The incredible pianist, composer and professor Alexander Taneyev (1856-1915) is one of the most exciting discoveries for all who love Russian music. Taneyev’s epic Piano Quintet - just now emerging into the mainstream of the most popular chamber music - anchors a program that affirms Taneyev’s mastery through the genius of his students Prokofiev and Rachmaninov, and reveals Taneyev’s roots in the music of his mentor Tchaikovsky.

Presented by Clayton University.


  • Rachmaninov Trio élégiaque in G minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello (1892)
  • Tchaikovsky Souvenir d'un lieu cher for Violin and Piano, Op. 42 (1878)
  • Prokofiev Sonata in C major for Two Violins, Op. 56 (1932)
  • Taneyev Quintet in G minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 30 (1910-11)