Saratoga Springs, NY

Sunday, August 4, 3:00 PM at Saratoga Performing Arts Center - Little Theatre

Thrills & Chills

French color, American optimism, British wit and German drama combine to create a program at once thrilling to the ears and riveting to the soul. Ravel’s iconic water work, Jeux d’eau, begins a program which includes reflective and dynamic French works by Poulenc and Fauré; Lukas Foss’s lively cello & piano Capriccio; Britten’s humorous and bold violin suite; and Beethoven’s Shakespeare-inspired “Ghost” trio, a game-changer in the chamber music landscape.


  • Ravel Jeux d'eau for Piano (1901)
  • Fauré Fantasy for Flute and Piano, Op. 79 (1898)
  • Poulenc Sonata for Flute and Piano (1956-57)
  • Foss Capriccio for Cello and Piano (1948)
  • Britten Suite for Violin and Piano, Op. 6 (1934-35)
  • Beethoven Trio in D major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 70, No. 1, “Ghost” (1808)