Update browser for a secure Made experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Made experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

The United States of America maintains its identity as the world’s quintessential melting pot, just about everyone and everything we know having roots elsewhere. CMS’s American Panorama program illustrates this phenomenon in music unmistakably American in spirit yet diverse in dialect, each composer having drawn from distinct sources: Harry T. Burleigh from his African-American heritage; Antonín Dvořák from his exposure to Native-American and African-American music combined with his innate Czech sensibility; Arthur Foote, a leading 19th-century composer who, as a member of the Boston Six, forged a uniquely American sound clothed in European traditions; and Aaron Copland, whose intensive studies in Paris afforded him the technique to express the flavor of America as no other.


Henry T. Burleigh Southland Sketches for Violin and Piano

Antonín Dvořák Quintet in E-flat major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 97, “American”

Arthur Foote Nocturne and Scherzo for Flute and String Quartet

Aaron Copland Appalachian Spring Suite for Ensemble

Media Kit

Click below for headshots, group photos, video promos, and more.



This program is available for touring October 3–29, 2023

For more information about booking CMS in North America, contact David Rowe Artists Management.