Pierre Lapointe


Pierre Lapointe Photo credit: Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

Pierre Lapointe is the violist of the Escher String Quartet and founded the group in 2005 with violinist Adam Barnett-Hart, violinist Wu Jie, and cellist Andrew Janss. The Escher Quartet was a member of Chamber Music Society Two from 2006 to 2009 and during that period, Mr. Lapointe collaborated with several of its established artists. In 2012, he completed a thesis on Zemlinsky's Second Quartet and earned a doctorate from the Manhattan School of Music and finished almost simultaneously a recording project of all four Zemlinsky string quartets on the Naxos label. As a member of the Escher Quartet, he has performed at numerous venues across the United States and all over the world. Before deciding to devote himself entirely to the viola, he played the violin and studied composition. His main teachers were Yaëla Hertz Berkson and Calvin Sieb for the violin, Paul Yarbrough and Lawrence Dutton on the viola, and Steven Gellman in musical composition. In 2002 he was a member of a quartet that was presented to great acclaim on the radio show Jeunes Artistes of CBC Radio in Canada. He received a prize in 2004 from Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec for his work at the Gatineau Music Conservatory and was granted a gold medal by the University of Ottawa in 2000 for his undergraduate studies in composition and violin performance. Since 2010 Mr. Lapointe has played on a viola ingeniously designed and made by luthier Christophe Landon.