An Evening with David Finckel and Wu Han

Sunday, January 28, 2024, 5:00 PM at Alice Tully Hall
Buy Tickets Subscriptions



CMS’s Artistic Directors take the spotlight for a special evening, opening with Debussy’s iconic Cello Sonata.

Composed for the duo, Bruce Adolphe’s sublime Couple leads seamlessly to Shostakovich’s gripping Sonata, a classic of the repertoire. The exuberant Dvořák Piano Quartet concludes the evening, in which David and Wu Han are joined by two stellar members of the current Bowers Program.


  • Debussy Sonata for Cello and Piano (1915)
  • Bruce Adolphe Couple for Cello and Piano (1998)
  • Shostakovich Sonata in D minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 40 (1934)
  • Dvořák Quartet in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 87 (1889)

Subscription Series