Charlottesville, VA

Tuesday, March 19, 7:30 PM at Cabell Hall Auditorium

Russian Mastery

The incredible pianist, composer and professor Alexander Taneyev (1856-1915) is one of the most exciting discoveries for all who love Russian music. Taneyev’s epic Piano Quintet - just now emerging into the mainstream of the most popular chamber music - anchors a program that affirms Taneyev’s mastery through the genius of his students Prokofiev and Rachmaninov, and reveals Taneyev’s roots in the music of his mentor Tchaikovsky.

Presented by the Tuesday Evening Concert Series.


  • Rachmaninov Trio élégiaque in G minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello (1892)
  • Tchaikovsky Souvenir d'un lieu cher for Violin and Piano, Op. 42 (1878)
  • Prokofiev Sonata in C major for Two Violins, Op. 56 (1932)
  • Taneyev Quintet in G minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 30 (1910-11)