Update browser for a secure Made experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Made experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Summer Evenings V

Free Ticket Lottery

Tue, July 23, 2024, 7:30 pm

Alice Tully Hall

2 hours, including intermission

Buy Tickets

Choose a performance from the dates below


{{performance.Venue}} at {{performance.Time}}

$20 Tickets SOLD OUT. Tickets available through lottery—enter today for a chance to claim free tickets on the TodayTix app.

CMS’s summer tradition returns. Get this year’s hottest ticket, featuring beloved chamber works in the cool atmosphere of Alice Tully Hall. Stay after the performance and get to know the artists in the lobby with a complimentary glass of wine.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart


Trio in E-flat major for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano, K. 498, “Kegelstatt”

Quick Note

Quick Note

Mozart's "Kegelstatt" Trio was reportedly composed while playing skittles (a lawn game similar to bowling), hence its nickname.

Listen for the seamless blending of the clarinet, viola, and piano voices as Mozart showcases the unique timbres and expressive capabilities of each instrument.

Richard Strauss


Sonata in E-flat major for Violin and Piano, Op. 18

Quick Note

Quick Note

Strauss's Sonata showcases the composer's early mastery of the Romantic style–written when he was just 23 years old.

Listen for Strauss's lush harmonies and expansive melodies, as well as his innovative approach to form and structure.

Robert Schumann


Fantasiestücke (Fantasy Pieces) for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 73

Quick Note

Quick Note

Schumann's "Fantasiestücke" is notable for being inspired by Schumann's fascination with literature, particularly the characters and scenes found in Romantic literature, which he sought to capture through music.

Listen for the vivid musical storytelling, as each piece explores different moods and emotions, ranging from tender lyricism to lively energy.

Ernő Dohnányi


Quintet No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 1

Quick Note

Quick Note

Dohnányi's Quintet No. 1 serves as the composer's debut opus, written at the age of 18 during his studies at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest.

Pay attention to the thematic development throughout the piece, as Dohnányi navigates through various emotions and moods, from dramatic intensity in the first movement to lyrical tenderness or introspection in the second movement.

Orion Weiss


Lun Li


Danbi Um


Paul Neubauer


Sterling Elliott


Ricardo Morales

Presented at

Alice Tully Hall

1941 Broadway at, W 65th St New York, NY 10023